The Short Answer
Fibre is available to 95.7% of households in Málaga province (June 2025). As of 29 September 2026, headline fibre prices run from €19.90 to €35 a month, or from €10 at Digi where it has its own network, and many of them are 12-month offers. Four steps get you connected:
- Check your exact address on two or three provider websites. Digi’s cheapest prices apply only where it runs its own fibre.
- Compare the price after the offer and the minimum period. Orange’s fibre of up to 1 Gb with TV costs €35 a month for 12 months, then €49, for new connections ordered by 4 October 2026. Of the tariffs compared here, only Movistar’s, O2’s and Pepephone’s fibre has no permanencia — minimum contract period.
- Have your documents and a euro bank account ready: the identity and residence documents your provider asks for, which differ between providers, and an IBAN for the direct debit.
- Book the installation. Most providers publish lead times between 24 hours and about two weeks; Pepephone states a 30-day maximum.
Last verified: 29 September 2026.
Key Takeaways
- Digi advertises fibre with no permanencia, but its own FAQ sets a 3-month minimum on the fibre. Lowi sets 3 months on the fibre in its packs and 12 months on fibre-only tariffs (confirmed September 2026).
- Of the tariffs compared, Digi’s is the cheapest where its own network reaches: €10 a month for 500 Mbps, against €25 for 300 Mbps elsewhere (confirmed September 2026).
- Leaving inside a minimum period can cost you: €150 at Lowi and €242 at Orange or MásMóvil, for example (confirmed September 2026).
- Four operators hold 94.4% of fixed broadband lines: Movistar, Vodafone, MasOrange and Digi (CNMC, July 2026 data). Orange and MásMóvil have been one company since 2024.
- A consumer telecoms contract can be signed for at most 24 months, and you can cancel at any time with 2 working days’ notice, paying any early-exit charge that applies (Ley 11/2022 and Real Decreto 899/2009).
This guide compares fibre and fibre-plus-mobile prices from 10 brands, read on each provider’s own website on 29 September 2026, and the contract terms that decide what you pay once an offer ends.
Who sells fibre in Spain
Four operators hold 94.4% of Spain’s fixed broadband lines, according to July 2026 data from the CNMC — Spain’s markets and competition regulator. Every brand in this guide belongs to one of them:
- Telefónica: Movistar and its second brand, O2, both on Telefónica’s fibre network.
- Vodafone España, owned by Zegona since May 2024: Vodafone, and Lowi, which sells on Vodafone’s fibre coverage.
- MasOrange, formed from Orange and MásMóvil in 2024 and fully owned by Orange since June 2026: Orange, Yoigo, Jazztel, MásMóvil, Pepephone, Simyo, Lebara and other brands. Simyo sells on Orange’s fibre network.
- Digi: its own fibre network in some areas, which it sells as Fibra SMART. Elsewhere a Movistar technician may need to visit first to install the fibre connection point.
Fibre-only prices as of 29 September 2026
Monthly prices from each provider’s own website. Providers label them IVA incluido — VAT included or precio final — final price, except Orange, which does not state the tax basis next to the fibre price.
| Brand | Price | After the offer | Minimum period |
|---|---|---|---|
| Digi | €10 (500 Mbps), €15 (750 Mbps), €20 (2 Gbps) or €25 (10 Gbps) on its own network; €25 (300 Mbps) or €30 (1 Gbps) elsewhere | No time-limited offer shown | 3 months, up to €100 to leave early |
| Movistar | €19.90 (300 Mb), €24.90 (600 Mb) or €29.90 (1 Gb) for 12 months | Not stated; the page shows €30, €35 and €45 struck through | None |
| Yoigo | €19.90 (600 Mb) for 12 months; €19.90 (1 Gb) for the first 3 bills, then €29.90 until month 12 | €29.90 (600 Mb); €39.90 (1 Gb) | 3 months, €200 plus tax to leave early |
| Orange | €20 (300 Mb), €30 (600 Mb with TV) or €35 (up to 1 Gb with TV) for 12 months, for new connections ordered by 4 October 2026; not available on tariff changes or with other sign-up discounts | €30, €39 and €49 | 12 months, €242 installation charge to leave early |
| Vodafone | €20 (600 Mb) or €25 (1 Gb with TV) for 12 months, for new customers in Vodafone’s own-fibre areas who sign up by 30 September 2026 | €30 and €35 | 12 months, pro-rata charge to leave early |
| Lowi | €23 (300 Mb, online only), €27 (600 Mb) or €31 (1 Gb) | No time-limited offer shown | 12 months, €150 to leave early |
| O2 | €23 (300 Mb), €27 (600 Mb) or €31 (1 Gb) | No time-limited offer shown | None |
| Pepephone | €23 (300 Mb); 600 Mb or 1 Gb at €34.60 for existing customers only, with the speed depending on the services they already have | No time-limited offer shown | None |
| MásMóvil | €24.90 (500 Mb) for 12 months | €29.90 (500 Mb); €39.90 (1 Gb) | 3 months, €242 installation charge to leave early |
| Simyo | €25.99 (500 Mb) or €29.99 (1 Gb); €23.99 or €25.99 while you keep a Simyo main mobile contract of €8.50 or more | No time-limited offer shown | 3 months, €240 installation charge, reduced pro rata |
Fibre and mobile packs as of 29 September 2026
Selected fibre-plus-mobile packs from each brand’s pack page. Combining separate tariffs can cost less, as the Digi note below the table shows:
| Brand | Monthly price | What it includes |
|---|---|---|
| Digi | €13 | 500 Mbps fibre (own-network areas only), 25 GB of mobile data and 100 minutes; €15 with 50 GB and unlimited calls |
| Simyo | €22.50 | 300 Mb fibre, 250 GB and unlimited calls, a limited offer; the €240 installation charge is reduced pro rata if you leave within 12 months |
| Lowi | €30 | 600 Mb fibre, 50 GB and unlimited calls; 3-month minimum on the fibre |
| MásMóvil | €34.90 | 500 Mb fibre, 50 GB and unlimited calls, plus a free second line sharing the data; 3-month minimum |
| Pepephone | €35 | 600 Mb fibre, 60 GB and unlimited calls; extra lines €5 a month; no minimum period |
| O2 | €35 | 600 Mb fibre and 60 GB; no minimum period |
| Vodafone | €43 | 600 Mb fibre and one line with 60 GB; 12-month commitment |
| Yoigo | €49 for 3 months, then €55 | 600 Mb fibre, a landline and 2 lines sharing 50 GB |
| Orange | €50 | 600 Mb fibre, one line with 60 GB and unlimited calls, and a second line at no extra cost; €242 installation charge if you leave within 3 months, and a 12-month minimum if you take a discount or promotion |
| Movistar | €53 | 600 Mb fibre, 2 lines with 60 GB and 5 GB, and TV; no minimum period |
Digi’s mobile lines have no minimum period and cost less with Digi fibre: a 5 GB line is €2 a month instead of €3, and a 50 GB line €5 instead of €7. Digi’s €10 fibre with the €2 line comes to €12 a month.
Minimum periods and early-exit charges
Of the tariffs compared, only Movistar’s, O2’s and Pepephone’s fibre has no permanencia. The others set a minimum period, usually by charging for the installation if you leave early:
- 3 months: Digi (up to €100), Yoigo (€200 plus tax), MásMóvil (€242), Simyo’s fibre-only tariffs (€240, reduced pro rata), Orange’s fibre-and-mobile pack (€242) and the fibre in Lowi’s fibre-and-mobile packs (up to €150, reduced pro rata).
- 12 months: Orange’s fibre-only tariffs (€242), Vodafone (a pro-rata charge) and Lowi’s fibre-only tariffs (€150). Orange also sets 12 months on a pack taken with a discount or promotion.
Digi advertises fibre with no minimum period, but its own FAQ sets 3 months on the fibre. Lowi’s fibre-and-mobile pages say sin permanencia, which applies to the mobile line; the fibre carries 3 months. Simyo’s fibre-and-mobile page gives both 3 and 12 months, so check the terms of the offer you pick.
What the law guarantees
- A consumer telecoms contract can be signed for at most 24 months. It then renews automatically, and from that point you can leave at any time on up to one month’s notice, paying only for the service provided during that notice (Ley 11/2022, article 67.7).
- You can cancel at any time by giving at least 2 working days’ notice (Real Decreto 899/2009, article 7). The ministry’s telecoms user office says the operator must process the cancellation within 2 days and accept it through the same channel you used to sign up.
- If the provider announces a change to your contract terms, you can leave at no extra cost within one month of the notice, unless the change only benefits you, is purely administrative and has no negative effect on you, or is required by law. The provider must give at least one month’s notice of the change (Ley 11/2022, article 67.8).
- When you switch, your number must be ported within 1 working day of the agreed date, and any loss of internet service during the switch may not exceed 1 working day (Ley 11/2022, article 70).
Cancelling during a permanencia is still possible; the provider may then apply its early-exit charge.
What speed you need
On the tariff pages checked, the slowest fibre on sale is 300 Mb. Moving from 300 Mb to 1 Gb adds €8 a month at Lowi and O2, and €10 at Movistar during its 12-month offer (as of 29 September 2026).
Check the upload speed as well as the download. Vodafone’s upload depends on the connection at your address: 60 or 600 Mbps on its 600 Mb tariff, and 100 Mbps or 1 Gbps on its 1 Gb tariff. If you need to reach a server or camera at home from outside, note that Digi uses CG-NAT, which shares one public IP address between several customers.
How to get connected
What you need
- ID: each provider sets its own rules, so check its document list before you sign up. Orange asks EU citizens for a residence card or passport plus the green EU registration certificate, and other nationals, including British and American residents, for a passport and residence card. Orange sells contracts only to residents of Spain. Vodafone can ask for a photo of your NIF, NIE or passport, and for extra documents or a deposit; if you give only a passport, it asks for official Spanish proof that you are not resident in Spain.
- A bank account for the direct debit: EU rules bar a company from requiring your account to be in a particular EU country, provided it can take SEPA direct debits (Regulation 260/2012, article 9). Orange accepts a Spanish account, or another eurozone account through a shop or by email. A UK account falls outside the EU rule.
- Your exact address, which the provider uses to check coverage and speeds.
Installation times
The providers’ own published targets, as of 29 September 2026:
| Provider | Published target |
|---|---|
| Movistar | 24 to 48 hours, 5 days at most |
| Yoigo | 24 to 48 hours, 5 days at most |
| Vodafone | 2 to 5 days; its 24 to 48 hour target applies only in Madrid, Barcelona, Valencia and Zaragoza |
| Lowi | 3 to 7 days in its FAQ, although its tariff page advertises 24 to 48 hours |
| MásMóvil | 3 to 5 days for a new number, 7 to 8 when you port one from another operator |
| Digi | 2 to 7 days on its own network, 2 to 15 elsewhere |
| O2 | 6 working days, or 7 to 9 working days with a number transfer |
| Simyo | The installer arranges an appointment within the first 7 days |
| Pepephone | Up to 30 days |
Orange does not state a lead time on the pages checked. If the home already has fibre installed, ask whether the provider can reuse it: O2, for example, says customers switching from Movistar with fibre already installed do not need a new installation. If fibre does not reach the address, ask about 4G or 5G home internet, which runs over the mobile network.
An installation delay is a real problem when you work from home. The free daily WaypointSur Briefing collects fixes like this one, the small local moves that save weeks of friction.
TV and UK streaming
- Spanish free-to-air TV is broadcast on TDT — digital terrestrial television, received through an aerial.
- Provider TV: Movistar, Vodafone and Orange sell TV with their fibre. Movistar’s €53 fibre-and-mobile pack includes TV, and Movistar fibre customers can add Movistar Plus for €5 a month (as of 29 September 2026).
- UK channels: BBC iPlayer and ITVX, which replaced ITV Hub in December 2022, stream only in the UK, and the BBC says iPlayer is for UK residents only. iPlayer programmes downloaded in the UK can be watched abroad, and ITVX Premium downloads play abroad for up to 7 days.
- Streaming services such as Netflix, Prime Video and Disney+ are available in Spain. Catalogues differ by country, and each service has its own rules for moving an existing account from the UK.
🌊 Get the WaypointSur Briefing
From internet to taxes to healthcare: the practical stuff for life in Spain, in a free daily briefing.
Frequently asked questions
How fast is internet in Spain?
Spain’s median fixed broadband download speed was 262.62 Mbps in the Speedtest Global Index for August 2026, 18th in the world. Fibre-to-the-home was available to 95.9% of Spanish households at 30 June 2025, and to 95.7% in Málaga province. Where fibre has not arrived, 4G or 5G home internet is an alternative where mobile coverage allows.
Which is the best internet provider on the Costa del Sol?
It depends on your address and how long you are willing to commit. Of the tariffs compared here, Digi’s is the cheapest where it has its own network, at €10 a month for 500 Mbps. If you want no minimum period, Movistar, O2 and Pepephone are the brands compared here with none on their fibre. Prices as of 29 September 2026.
Can I watch UK TV in Spain?
BBC iPlayer and ITVX stream only in the UK, and the BBC says iPlayer is for UK residents only. iPlayer programmes downloaded in the UK can be watched abroad, and ITVX Premium downloads play abroad for up to 7 days. Netflix, Prime Video and Disney+ are available in Spain, although catalogues differ by country.
How long does it take to get internet installed in Spain?
Movistar and Yoigo publish 24 to 48 hours, and Vodafone 2 to 5 days outside Madrid, Barcelona, Valencia and Zaragoza. Most other providers quote up to about two weeks, and Pepephone states a 30-day maximum. Have the identity documents your provider asks for and a bank account for the direct debit.
Keep watching
Contract small print changes. Your renewal date doesn’t wait.
Waypoint Sur is a free daily briefing for Costa del Sol residents: provider price rises, permanencia traps, and the utility fine print that costs money when you find out late.
Related guides
General information, not legal advice. Prices and offers change often, so check the provider’s own page before you sign. Sources, read on 29 September 2026: each provider’s tariff and help pages; CNMC telecoms data published 23 September 2026; Informe de Cobertura de Banda Ancha en España 2025 (Ministry for Digital Transformation); Ley 11/2022, articles 67 and 70; Real Decreto 899/2009, article 7; Regulation (EU) 260/2012, article 9; BBC iPlayer and ITV help pages; Speedtest Global Index.
Add WaypointSur as a preferred source in Google Search:

